Posted by: lizardeyephoto | November 22, 2010

Marketing madness

So recently, I’ve been reading and listening to countless photography biz marketing stuffs. To be honest it is overwhelming me to the point of madness….all of the: you need to triple or quadruple your prices and find new vendors and not use local labs and charge so much money that only less than a quarter of the population can afford your stuff, type things is getting me down.

I also am not comfortable with offering 100% satisfaction guarantees or charging upwards of $60 for an 8×10.

NO NO NO NO NO!!!

THAT is NOT going to happen.

These people that are stressing me out about this stuff also do not understand that my city, fair Savannah, is SATURATED with artists, art students and wannabe artists who will charge $50 for a day’s worth of wedding photography and probably actually be GOOD at it.

This is the kind of stuff I have to compete with.

YES, I am more experienced than them, know what I’m doing and have been around the block a few times, but the marketing gurus want me to exclude so much of the general population that I, myself would be excluded from using my own business as a photo source because i wouldn’t be able to afford myself!!!! Not cool.

The other day, I was at the roller derby with some friends and one of them told me that I should advertise in XXXXXX publication at XXXXXX exclusive neighborhood. While she is probably right (she is) it also made me kind of want to die inside.

That’s not the ONLY type of people I want to take photos of. I’ve been thinking about this all so much over the last few weeks that I think I know who I want to photograph and while I want to take photos of traditional families, I also want to take photos of non-traditional families, gay people, commitment ceremonies, people with tattoos, purple hair and piercings. I want to take photos of INTERESTING stuff.

So that’s that. I’ve picked out a couple of non-profits that I am going to try to work with and maybe some good clients will come out of that.

I need to distance myself from the marketing gurus because I am not a follower and they do not understand this situation.

Responses

  1. Yay!! Someone who thinks like me! πŸ™‚ I do a lot of business with single moms of multiple kids. They can’t afford mega-prices and I don’t feel comfortable charging that much. I’m 90% word of mouth and I’m staying so busy right now with photography (roughly 4-5 shoots a week) on top of “real” life that I don’t have time to sleep1 A good feeling but not at the same time.

    πŸ™‚

  2. Sorry about that. It gives me the heebie-jeebies too, but I thought it could lead to other, more interesting work.

    • oh! that’s okay! it is certainly something i AM going to go for, but it still does, as you say, give me the heebie-jeebies! πŸ™‚ just about all suggestions right now are good ones!


Leave a Reply

Categories

